Ancient Brain provides the ability to obfuscate or hide your work.
When you Edit, you will see a selection like the following:
Here are your choices for your code:
Everyone can see your work and run it and clone it.
"View Source" will show your code.
Everyone can see the existence of your Worlds and Minds, and can run them.
They cannot clone them.
Also, if they "View Source" they get your JS, but it will be a jumbled up ("obfuscated") version of your code.
They cannot see your plain text code.
Your code is also excluded from the site-wide JS code search.
No one can see or run your work, unless you tell them the secret URL.
If you tell them the URL, then it is like the previous.
They cannot clone, and they will see an obfuscated copy.
Your code is excluded from the site-wide JS code search.
You can switch back and forth.
For example, develop your draft World in secret at a hidden URL.
And then when ready, "publish" it by changing it to a public URL.
The obfuscated JS is the version that runs when you click Run.
The obfuscated code looks different to the code you edit, but does the same thing when it runs.
The plain text JS is saved on our server.
When you Edit, the plain text version is always loaded. Only the owner can see this.
Trying to de-obfuscate someone's obfuscated JS
is against our
The most important note:
To encourage open source,
the site has an Annual De-obfuscation
once a year,
where as much code as possible is un-hidden and de-obfuscated.
You may need to opt out of this.
See that page for how to do that.